The Henry Steel Olcott Memorial Cricket Tournament is conducted annually among the past cricketers of eight premier Buddhist schools in Sri Lanka in honor of Col. Olcott, the founder of Buddhist education in Sri Lanka. The organizing function in each year is rotated among each participating Old Boy Associations.

This cricket tournament was started in 1999 following the 75 th Anniversary Celebrations of Nalanda College. About this time, groups Old Boys of Nalanda, Dharmaraja and Ananda were meeting informally in the evenings at the Bloomfield Cricket Club. It was during one of these gatherings that the idea of a limited over tournament among the Old Boys of the major cricket playing Buddhist Schools was proposed by the 1st Test Captain of Sri Lanka, Bandula Warnapura of Nalanda. Accordingly, the first tournament of the series was held by the Old Nalandian Sports Club on 12 th December 1999 at the Nalanda College Grounds.


  • Ananda College, Colombo
  • Dharmaraja College, Kandy
  • Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda
  • Dharmapala Vidyalaya, Pannipitiya
  • Maliyadeva College, Kurunegala
  • Mahinda College, Galle
  • Nalanda College, Colombo
  • Rahula College, Matara.

Past Venues and Winners:

Year Host School Champion
1999 Nalanda College Maliyadeva College/ Nalanda College
2000 Dharmasoka College Dharmaraja College/Nalanda College
2001 Dharmapala College Dharmasoka College/Ananda College
2002 Mahinda College Joint champions Ananda College & Dharmasoka College
2003 Rahula College Joint champions Ananda College & Dharmasoka College
2004 Ananda College Dharmashoka College/Ananda College
2005 - Dharmasoka College / Maliyadewa College
2006 - Dharmapala Vidyalaya/ Dharmasoka College
2007 - Dharmapala Vidyalaya
2008 Dharmasoka College Dharmasoka College
2009 Dharmapala Vidyalaya Ananda College/Maliyadewa College



Home | History | Cricket | Gallery | Directory | Contact                                                              © 2010Old Boy's Of Olcott Schools U.A.E. All Rights Reserved.